Can you have too many shawls?

OK, way too much time has passed since I popped in to keep a record of what I’m doing.  So what have I been doing?

Knitting… I finished my Summer Mystery Shawlette that Wendy had going back around the end of May through part of June.  I finished it on Rick’s birthday! (after his parents left to go home) – and it is still waiting to be blocked.

Almost done in this picture.

Why do I do that?  I think I have some kind of mental block about blocking I guess!!!

28’s Cousin 53

28's Cousin 53

I almost forgot about this scarf… it’s very colorful!  It was very quick to knit and very easy.

Casting on the million or so stitches needed!

I think I would like to make this again using a DK weight yarn, with some wool in it.

Next up… I started another shawl it is the Arroyo.

1st of four colors

I have always like this shawl and thought I’d get started while waiting for my clues on the Westknits Mystery Shawl.  Are you sensing a theme here.  Yes, I am in love with shawls/scarfs.  The Arroyo is knit with worsted weight yarn (I think), but I wanted to use my sock weight yarn that has been waiting very quietly in the yarn closet.

This yarn is so yummy!

It’s the Unique Sheep Verve yarn in the colorway Japonica.  Japonica is 4 skeins of 100 yards each.  It is so pretty.  It is having to take a backseat to the newest project… Westknits Mystery Shawl!

OK, the official name of this Mystery KAL is Westknits Mystery Shawl KAL 2011: Earth & Sky I have several friends that have joined in on this one and we are all loving it.  I’m getting really close to finishing Clue #3 and Clue #4 came out on Monday… well the 4th clue is the border for the shawl and I’m hoping it won’t take long, because I have to be done to post pictures on the 1st to win me a prize!!!!  This shawl uses 3 colors and it was fun to see what everyone was going to use for their 3 colors.  I played it safe and I’m calling mine Shades of Indigo.  The yarn is Hand Jives and it’s bleeding on my hands just a bit.  I used this yarn once before and had the same thing happen, but when I soaked it to block it, all was good.  This yarn blooms wonderfully and is so pretty.  I’m not super thrilled with knitting with it, because it doesn’t feel super soft, but it is really pretty to me.

Clue #2 done

Not the greatest picture, but you get the idea.

Working on Clue #3

This yarn reminds me of washed denim… I can’t wait to finish it.

OK, what else… this past weekend was our 5th wedding anniversary and my birthday. (Thursday and Friday) So else would we do… take the RV to Cape Disappointment!  We had a great trip.  I was able to get a little knitting done and we had tons of sunshine on Saturday.  Friday night was super foggy and misty and WINDY!  It felt like sleeping on a boat.  Here are just a few pictures…

North Head Lighthouse

The walk out to the lighthouse is so pretty.  And we could not have asked for a nicer day.

Rick and Cassie on the trail to the lighthouse.

The view from the trail, looking back to where we camped.

In the far background of this picture you can see the North Jetty, and just before that in the trees is where we camped.

A view from the trail less traveled leaving the lighthouse.

Round trip is only a half mile trip… good thing, I was not wearing the appropriate flip-flops.

I think this is the lighthouse keepers house.

Of course there is a gift shop… Cassie and I waited while Rick went in and looked around for about 2 minutes.

the fog coming in for the night

Heading home on Sunday

Are you wondering how I took this picture?  Well you see this trip we decided to bring Rick commuter car down so we would have something to drive to go see stuff.  So I drove his little car and it only took a half a tank of gas from home, back to home.  Someday (I hope soon) we will have the capability to tow the car.  It wasn’t to bad, I got to listen to my book and he and Cassie got to listen to her barking!  This was our first trip without Thor and it seemed strange to not have him there.  I miss him so much still.   The biggest draw back about me also driving is that I can’t knit!

OK, I need to get back to knitting on my Westknits Mystery shawl.

One last thing… Thank you to everyone that left me comments about Thor.  Yes, pets really are a part of our families.

Knit on!

Leave a Reply

