it’s starting to look a lot like summer…

On the beach at Ocean Shores, July 4th

Aside from the fact that there was TONS of smoke in the air on the beach, it was a perfect 4th of July night!

bye bye sunset... hello fireworks!

It has now become a tradition I guess you could say.  My mom comes to visit every year for the 4th of July holiday.  We always have a great time.  She crochets, and works on cutting fabric for her quilt projects, and I knit and we both laugh and gab A LOT!  This year it also included a Murder She Wrote marathon playing on TV while we gabbed.  LOL  Good times.  I was so happy to be able to give her the sweater that I have been working on FOREVER!  And did I take a picture of her in it?  Of course not.  I can’t believe I didn’t take a picture.  So I’ll have to go visit her soon to get one.  I can say that it was the perfect length and looked beautiful on her.

The wildlife didn't seem to mind the fireworks.

 Mom and I went to Elma for her to get more fabric… now I know where I get it from.  She buys fabric, like I buy yarn!  Daughter like mother.  I couldn’t help myself and I bought just a little bit of yarn.  3 skeins of Serenity Garden Yarn.  In these wonderfully colors.  It’s 100% Microfiber, and on Sunday I started a scarf.  It’s called 28’s Cousin 53, I’m on row 44 now.  Each row from 44 to 53 has 514 sts!!!!  That’s a lot of stitches.  My goal is to have it done this weekend so I can ONE, wear it next week.  And TWO, get started on a pair of socks!

So bright and colorful

This is a nice little pattern that I have been eyeing for sometime now and just wasn’t sure if I wanted to do it in a wonderfully soft yarn or something fun and whimsical… fun won!

About 15 rows or so done in this picture.

My other finished project is the gorgeous Mezquita shawl.  I finished this one and blocked and got to wear it to work this week.  It is so soft and yummy.

Blocking!

This was a really nice knitting project.  When I got to the end of pattern instead of doing the bind-off I added 5 seed stitch rows to help keep it from rolling so much.  It’s seems to have done the trick for the most part.  I love this scarf!

OK, back to knitting.  I’ll post more later!  Looks like we are going to have a sunny and wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

