Whirligig!

It sure seems like everyone is having a baby at the same time… I’m knitting or need to be knitting for 3 or 4 to be born in the next 1 to 3 months.

This is the quickest and cutest project I have worked on in a very, very long time.

Whirligig top done

Pattern: Whirligig Shrug by Stefanie Japel ( pattern in the Weekend 2009 Interweave Knits)
Yarn: Svale – Colorway: 9012 (a spring green) 50% cotton, 40% viscose, 10% silk — 114 yard per ball (DK weight)

I’m using size 6 needles and I didn’t check my gauge this time because it doesn’t really matter about the size outcome.  It will fit someday.  This yarn is very soft and the color is beautiful I wish I could get a good picture of the color… however, it splits very easily.  If you are careful, it’s fine, and the fabric feels great.  I started this on Saturday afternoon.  And by Sunday I was done with one sleeve.  Then along came Monday… a crazy day at best.  While sitting in the waiting room at my doctor’s office I was able to half of the next sleeve done.  I thought it would be done by now, but then those darn Shingles got in the way.  Yes, the reason I was at my doctor’s office was to find out if I had Shingles on my back.  I knew it hurt and was red and swollen and I had a fever and monster headache.  Confirmation came after an hour and half.  Now the medicine I’m taking is making me dizzy and sick to my stomach… well I think it’s the meds… all this is really cutting into my knitting time!  I’m home today and napping a lot to make up for last night, maybe after I finish this post I will try to finish the Whirligig. 

If you are looking for a great quick and fun baby/toddler project I highly recommend this one.  BEWARE:  the pattern says it requires A LOT more yarn than it really does.  If you research your projects before you start on Ravelry you’ll see the same comment from tons of other people, too much yarn stated in the pattern.  Right now it looks like I’ll be using 2 balls (228 yards) for the 6 month size.  I think it suggested 375 yards!  This yarn is DK weight and that is what they suggest in the pattern.   I’m thinking about making another one of these in dark purple Cotton-Ease next. 

Only 8 rows to go on the bottom.

OK, I’m going to stop now and try to get some knitting done.

Leave a Reply

