And to think that I saw it on Mulberry Street…

210px-And_to_Think_That_I_Saw_It_on_Mulberry_Street

Do you remember this book?  I loved it once upon a time… and today for some reason I was reminded of it.. OK, maybe it wasn’t Mulberry Street… it was Broadway in Montesano, Washington.  But it was just as funny to me and all the others that happen to be on the main streets in this fun little town, around 11 am. 

One of my co-workers told me this morning that her son and several of his friends wanted to drive lawn mowers to school  on the last day.  So this morning on her way out of the house she looks in her garage and see about 6 riding lawn mowers, and outside beside their house a tractor!  Oh, aren’t boys funny.  So now flash forward to about 11 am and the phone rings at work to alert her that the mowers are coming down the main street and they are heading to lunch at El Rancho.  I ran out and tried to get a couple of pictures of them but all I managed to get was a picture of the traffic that was backing up behind them!

Going to lunch

Going to lunch

 Then after the boys had lunch they all came back up the hill and in front of our building.  We all ran out to wave and cheer them on as they went back up to school to end the 2009 school year.

Turning to pass in front of the courthouse.

Turning to pass in front of the courthouse.

I’m not sure what they were wearing, but they looked very colorful.

a quick stop for the whole group to catch up

a quick stop for the whole group to catch up

I guess not everyone had a mower to ride, because we saw one bicycle built for two!

and away they go

and away they go

Not the greatest picture, but you get the idea. 

going...going...going

going...going...going

 They didn’t have far to go, but mother was getting worried that they might run out of gas.

Arent boys funny

Aren't boys funny

They sure looked like they were having a good time… Oh, to be young.   Well that was the excitement in Montesano today.

Have a good week and remember to stay young at heart… and keep knitting.

4 responses to “And to think that I saw it on Mulberry Street…

  1. I loved it , thanks for sharing!

  2. That is great. This is the stuff that builds great memories. Made me smile. It is great that you live in a town that allowed it – the town I live in would have jumped on them and issue fines (not much heart and limited vision). Does Montesano have room for one more??

  3. I love this post! And good for the boys, too. Good clean fun.

  4. How cute! What a fun idea.

Leave a Reply

