Three Sisters…

I have lots of posting to do.  So lets see… I think I’ll just do several over the next couple of days.

First up… The Three Sista Chickens!

Last month I started knitting chickens for the Grays Harbor County Fair auction.  In the past I have donated themed gift baskets and this year I wanted to knit something fun.  So when I saw the pattern for Knit Chickens by Susan B. Anderson – how could I resist.

Everyday the pattern and yarn went to work with me and at break and during my lunch I would knit on them.  Soon Stripe the littlest chicken was done.

Little Sista Stripe

Little Sista Stripe

Now, even with stripe done, she came to work with me each day, and traveled around with me where ever I went.  She inspired me to keep working on her sisters.  People at work from different departments started coming to visit the little Stripe chicken.   Soon we had another sister chicken… her name is Flower.

The girls and I visiting Sherri at The Yarn Corner.

The girls and I visiting Sherri at The Yarn Corner.

 Now with Flower done, her and little sister Stripe decided they needed to go out and explore.  So I took them to the library with me in Montesano.  They waited for me in the flowers.

Stripe and Flower waiting for me at the library in Montesano.

Stripe and Flower waiting for me at the library in Montesano.

This was fun and the sun was shinning (a rare treat) so we went to the beach in Ocean Shores on the way home.

Camera setting got messed up while we were at the beach.

Camera setting got messed up while we were at the beach.

Now with auction time getting close, I pressed on and picked up the pace and soon Dot the third sister was done.  It was time to go back and visit Sherri at The Yarn Corner for one more photo shoot!

The girls visit The Yarn Corner sheep.

The girls visit The Yarn Corner sheep.

 

The girls watching it rain outside.

The girls watching it rain outside.

 

The sun came out for a minute and the girls look into the shop at yarn!

The sun came out for a minute and the girls look into the shop at yarn!

 

The girls already to go to work with me.

The girls already to go to work with me.

The sad day when the girls left to go off to auction finally came and I wrote a letter to send with the photo collage I put together.  This was to remind them of all the adventures we had together and to tell them that they were going to continue their life adventures with someone else. 

The Three Sista Chickens collage.

The Three Sista Chickens collage.

Saturday was the auction and they went to a very good home for $110.00 in the live auction!!!!!!  I was very proud of them. 
So now people at work ask me if I miss them.  Well of course, but guess what?  I’m going to make cousins!
OK, enough for now.  I’ll post again a couple of times this weekend.
5 responses to “Three Sisters…

  1. I love those chickens!!! When I saw the pattern I immediately fell in love. Awesome work. Be proud – $110!!!

    I actually think the beach picture is cool 🙂

  2. They are so cute! I don’t know how you could part with them. Nice job on the auction.

  3. I was so happy to get to be part of their early life. They just make me smile. I think I need some sista’s!

  4. Those sure are cute chicks! I want to go to The Yarn Corner. But it is to far from here in Oklahoma. At least you have pictures of your chicks. I’ll be looking for their cousins.

  5. Holy cow, those are darling! I’m plodding along on my first chicken, and your hens are inspiring me to finish it up.

Leave a Reply

