What’s New?

NEW FOR 2009…

It’s a new year… so now what is on the needles?  Well I’m so glad you asked!!

PATTERN: Bear Claw Blanket by Veronik Avery, from Interweave Knits, Spring 2005 (also available as PDF for $6.95 from the website.)
YARN: Cascade Sierra – 80% Pima Cotton and 20% Wool – Worsted/10 ply (9wpi) 191 yards per 100 gram skein – gauge is 18 – 20 = 4″ on size 7 needles.  COLORS USED:  Green 048 – Pink 16 – White 01 – and Pale Yellow 07
NEEDLES: US 4, US 5 and US 6 – clover bamboo circulars

So why this pattern?  Our local fairgrounds is having an auction in March to raise money for numerous things.  One of those things is that you can designate where you want the funds to go for the item you donate… this item will have the proceeds go toward the awards for Knitting/Crochet Crafts.  I work for the county so I know how important it is that they get as many volunteers as possible for this event.  We are a small county and I want to support them in a way I love… Knitting!

I don’t have a picture of my progress from today, but I can show you where I started out at this morning.

Starting the second claw
Starting the second claw

The green doesn’t seem to photograph very well.  It’s actually a bit brighter.  

Another view of the first claw done

Another view of the first claw done

I am weaving in the ends as I go, so I don’t a lot of strings hanging around. 
Keeping the back side clean.

Keeping the back side clean.

I’m not sure if I will be putting a back of fabric on this blanket or not.  So I am trying to keep the back side clean and neat… I’m trying!
We had a couple of inches of snow late this afternoon and the DISH stopped worked… thought Rick was going to go nuts! 🙂  I just kept knitting and watched a movie on my laptop through Netflix.  It’s raining hard now and the wind is really kicking up, and howling!  Snow is all gone.  (Oh, and DISH is working again too)
OK, it’s late and I need sleep.  I’ll post more pictures later.
One response to “What’s New?

  1. Ooh, what a pretty pattern. I love green and pink together. I love starting the new year off with a new project. It’s so much fun.

Leave a Reply

