Twas the weekend before Christmas…

and the snow kept falling…  (hope you enjoy the pictures mom!)

Early Saturday the snow came blowing in.

Early Saturday the snow came blowing in.

About 2:00 PM we left the house to check out the snow on the beach and in town.  This is what we found.

Ocean Shores Marina

Ocean Shores Marina

 This is the marina where we put the boat in earlier this year… remember the trips that I got so sea sick!

Rick waiting in the warm truck for me at the marina

Rick waiting in the warm truck for me at the marinaAs soon as I got out of the truck I was assaulted by the stinging snow. It felt like rocks hitting me in the face.This is at the beach, can you see the ocean?

 

Up close to the water... can you see the frozen sea?!

Up close to the water... can you see the frozen sea?!

It was so weird to walk right up to where the wave were coming in and see the water going under the snow drifts.  As we drove out near the water you couldn’t see anything on the beach because there was so much snow and so much snow blowing.  It really wasn’t safe for people to be driving on the beach because there was no way to know if it was a snow drift you were about to drive into, or a log!

A log on the beach in the blowing snow.

A log on the beach in the blowing snow.

We drove back into town and here are a couple of shots at the entrance to our little town.

Welcome!

Welcome!

 

Entrance to Ocean Shores

Entrance to Ocean Shores

At the post office.

At the post office.This time I stayed in the truck where it was warm. This is a shot in the parking lot. Seagulls on the beach.

ok, I don’t know why my picture of the seagulls on the beach isn’t showing up here, and the caption is showing above?
Back to the beach.  This time we entered from downtown Ocean Shores, just past the Shilo Inn.  As soon as we stopped the seagulls came flying up to us.  Bad day to be a bird.
Molly running on the beach.

Molly running on the beach.

So who is Molly?  I have no idea.  All I know is she was one very happy dog to be out running on the beach.  She ran back and forth chasing the birds and then the waves.  Our babies, Thor and Cassie stayed home on this trip.

Guess who stayed in the truck waiting at the beach!

Guess who stayed in the truck waiting at the beach!

While I ran out to snap a couple of shots, Rick waited in the truck with the heater going full blast.  Just a reminder… this picture is taken on the beach.  It’s easy to forget this is snow covered sand.  In the far distance you can barely make out the dunes.

In front of the City Beach Restrooms.

In front of the City Beach Restrooms.

The wind was blowing the snow so hard it was hard to see at times.  When we left the beach to come back into town and we made a quick stop at the restrooms to get this great shot of how deep the snow drifts got.  In some places the wind blew all the snow away to bare roads (or black ice).

Best coffee in Ocean Shores!

Best coffee in Ocean Shores!

This is the only time I’ve been glad to see my friend didn’t have her little coffee stand open.  I hope she was at home safe, warm and drinking some good coffee.  If ever you find yourself in Ocean Shores, be sure to stop by Mocha Madness!

Zipping through town.

Zipping through town.

Yes, that is a McDonalds in the blurr.  This is the only fast food restaurant we have in town, and they were open and doing pretty good business.  This picture was taken just before 4:00 PM – it looks like night time.

OSPD

OSPD

Yes, this is the famous Ocean Shores Police Department – I think Rick was glad he wasn’t on duty.  (He’s only a reserve so I would think they would make him go out in the cold!)  🙂

00 PM

Crossing the bridge over the lake - 4:00 PM

It’s hard to tell, but if you look carefully you can see where the canal part of the lake was starting to freeze over and the snow coming down make it look a little creepy.

A very COLD potty break for the dogs!

A very COLD potty break for the dogs!

Cassie got so jazzed when she went out in the snow.  She hoped around like the little rabbit she is, I think it had something to do with how cold the snow was on her belly!

Our COVERED front porch.

Our COVERED front porch.

I love all the trails the dogs left in the yard. 

Well now here it is Sunday night and we are having a few snow flurries and most of the day has been freezing rain and hail.  It makes the snow have a very crunchy layer on top.  Last night I must have woke up half a dozen times to a loud crashing sound.  It was the ice sliding off the roof, and when I was out with the dogs you could hear the ice and snow crashing out of the big trees on the other side of the lake.  Sounds echo off the water and it sounds very loud. 

OK, some knitting did get done this weekend, and now I need to turn my attention to sleep, so I can get up very early and head in to work.  I’ll bring the camera with me just in case.

OK, before I go I leave you with a picture from work (Grays Harbor County Administration building in Montesano) on last Monday (12/15/08).  Pretty isn’t it!?!

A beautiful Monday at work!

A beautiful Monday at work!

I hope you all are staying warm and enjoying the holidays and the snow if you have it.

Be safe,

Shanda

3 responses to “Twas the weekend before Christmas…

  1. Until this post I’ve never seen photos (or irl) the ocean in the winter. It’s pretty wild looking with the ice and snow. Hope you are staying warm and cozy.

  2. Wow, Shanda! Thanks for braving the wind to give us these pictures. I am amazed.

    I’m sorry you’re lonely at work today!

  3. Wow! That looks like Alaska! I’ve never seen the ocean freeze in Washington. Years ago my family (aunts, uncles and all) would spend Christmas together in Ocean Shores. I can’t imagine it that cold there. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

