Stitch n Pitch & No Knitting at Sea

First up… Stitch n Pitch in Seattle on August 7th! 

 

Julie and I left work at noon to make sure to get a good parking place and to stop and get our Blizzard for a good cause.  We got there soooo early, and parked only a block and half away from the Home Plate entrance.  We walked around and around and around… no place to sit and knit, bummer.  We saw 5 of the players from the other team (Tampa Bay).  3 of them got out of a cab and stood in front of us to cross the street and we just thought they were some young guys going to the game.  Then after they crossed the street and got next to the stadium people started asking them for autographs and wanting their picture taken with them… we didn’t have a clue who they were andhad to ask.  Silly us.  Then while shopping around at the Mariners store 2 more showed up.  But no Mariners to be found.   

Left Field Entrance

While shopping I found lots of stuff that I wanted and yet I stuck to my goal to only buy for my swap partners and to get the KnitALong book, and get it autographed by Larissa Brown.  (She also through out the opening pitch). 

Anyway, I’ve seen these before, it’s a piece of knitted fabric and you knit it into a pair of socks. 
from this (fabric) to that (sock)

from this (fabric) to that (sock)

This picture is of the fabric and the sock they knit from it.  AMAZING!  I just would not have guessed this fabric would make this beautiful sock.  So yes, I did buy one… for a swap partner… I think!
the knitting, the haul, and the dinner

the knitting, the haul, and the dinner

knitting socks for mom

knitting socks for mom

The weather that day was perfect and overall I think it was a perfect Stitch n Pitch… Oh, and did I mention that the Mariners won!

 

Next up… going fishing, and no knitting…

As you may or may not know, my husband got a new boat in first part of July and yesterday was the first time taking it out to the ocean.  Everyone wanted to go fishing with him, but when it came down to finding a time for them to go that was good, no one could go.  So, ME, being the good wife agreed to go. (this is the last thing I wanted to do.)  So I packed enough food to last a week, and only two knitting projects.  Oh and the camera, always a must.  Here is a very brief photo explanation of the day.
Leaving Ocean Shores marina

Leaving Ocean Shores marina

well at least the birds seem happy!

well at least the birds seem happy!

1st catch of the day... too bad it was a dogfish.

1st catch of the day... too bad it was a dogfish.

2nd and 3rd fish were also dogfish... big bummer!

2nd and 3rd fish were also dogfish... big bummer!

one very nervous girl
one very nervous girl, hanging on for dear life!
going home!
going home!

I would have taken more pictures of how HUGE the waves and swells got the closer we got to the bar, but I was to nervous to let go and get the camera.  All in all, I don’t really want to do this again, but if I must… I think I’ll need some depends! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One response to “Stitch n Pitch & No Knitting at Sea

  1. oh my, I nearly get sick looking at the pictures! I’m glad you did it but I hope you only have to go by your choice next time.

    The game was fun, wasn’t it!

Leave a Reply

