so what’s new…

Secret Pal 12… I’m really excited about this swap.  The hardest part is waiting.  We will  be partnered up in 2 weeks.  I want to start shopping now!

Memorial Day…my brother and his gang came to visit us.  It was a lot of fun.  5 boys between 7 and 13!! We went Geocaching and they played at the beach and they played in town and they played at the beach some more.  They went clamming for the first time, and I don’t even think they like clams.  They brought back 65 razor clams and guess who was still standing at the sink cleaning clams when the kids went to town to play?  I don’t think I’ll ever be able to eat another clam. 🙂

Here’s a couple of cute shots of the boys at play…    

baech boys

 

 

 

 

 

Thank goodness for the pop-up… it was base camp for all of them.  I was so amazed at how well they all got along.  No fights that I ever saw, and I even saw them sharing a time or two.  I hope we get to meet up with them this summer camping somewhere.

Our Geocache… after everyone left on Monday we went up to Roosevelt beach to place our cache again.  We had to bring it home for the winter, as the tides wanted to take it away.  The dogs enjoyed one last run on the beach and then the rain came.  All weekend the weather was perfect… sunburns on Saturday, then overcast and no rain for the rest of the weekend.  Here are my happy dogs Thor and Cassie ready to go home from the beach.

When we got home the passed out right away.  Then they kept jumping up to see if the boys were going to be coming in the house.  I think they miss the boys!

Also new…well maybe old really.  I finished something… (insert applause here) Believe it or not, while waiting for food to cook and boys to get ready in the mornings I managed to finish my Madder Rib socks.

I bought this Tofutsie yarn about a year ago and started them right away… I’m not sure what happened, maybe because they are knit on size 0 needles, and so many other projects came along, they just got pushed to the back.  Then the yarn started pooling on the foot and I really hate that.  So I tried starting the yarn in a different place, and that didn’t work so I just finished knitting them.  They are going to be in my shoes anyway… I can live with it.  They are super comfortable.  These were my first Dutch heel, and I think they are modified star toes.  What they really are is… DONE!

Noro sock yarn…I recently acquired this beautiful Noro sock yarn from a dear friend that wasn’t happy with the colorway (I am so in love with this yarn and colorway) I had to cast on and start to make the Cozy shawl, but the yarn was not happy, it wanted to be the beautiful Alhanbra by Anne Hanson.  The yarn and I are very happy now.  This picture doesn’t show off the yarn very well, but I’ll take more pictures as I get more done.

If you haven’t been out to Knitspot you really should take a look.  Anne Hanson has some wonderful patterns.  This one is written and charted beautifully. 

I better wrap things up for the night.  I’m baking cookies for my dear hubby.  Peanutbutter Chocolate Chip! We are going camping this weekend and Geocaching.  The camping spot for the weekend is Ike Kinswa State park.  It’s on the way to Mt Rainier, on Mayfield Lake.  I hope to be able to get a little knitting done while driving and in the evenings.  I’m off to put the clothes in the dryer and the next batch of cookies in the oven. 

Have a great weekend!

2 responses to “so what’s new…

  1. Took awhile for this to show up on Bloglines. I like how the shawl is coming out and that you are enjoying it.

    I hope you’re having a great time camping!

  2. I too am participating in a swap. I chose the Summer of Love – well, because it was the only one I knew of. I clearly need to get out more.

    I love how your shawl is coming along. The colors are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

