with one hand…

with one hand… YOU CAN’T KNIT!!!!!

I’m going through withdrawals, and it isn’t pretty.  Good thing I have drugs to make me want to sleep.  Let me back up,  last week (Thursday @ 6:15am to be exact) I went to the hospital for carpal tunnel surgery on my right hand.  The next 10 days I am not to use my right hand at all.  I’m finding it very difficult to do many things… typing is a little slow, and dressing isn’t easy either.  On a happier note, I’m not able to wash dishes, cook, clean the bathrooms, vacuum, and fun things like that.  Hubby seems to be doing a pretty good job so far at keeping things up.  He fills my ice bag, and even tries to cook for me a little. 

So while I’m not knitting I’m reading blogs and looking at my old knitting magazines and books.  This is a good and bad thing.  On the good side, I’m getting to catch up on lots of blogs and I’m finding tons of awesome things I want to knit.  On the bad side I’m finding tons of awesome projects that I want to knit now!

Things I’ve found that I want to knit soon…

…Mr. Greenjeans sweater (Knitty.com)

…Victiorian Lace Shawl (I joined the KAL in Yahoo groups)

…Cascading Leaves socks (I joined the TownsendSocksKnitALong in Yahoo groups)

…The Luckiest a felted bag by Katey Jackson  (s n a r k y d e s i g n . c o m | s n a r k y k a t e y . c o m | s n a r k y k n i t t e r s . c o m)

…Bear Claw Blanket by Veronik Avery (Interweave Knits Spring 2005)

…one more (OK 2 more) that I ran across -both are sweaters by Hanne Falkenberg – Mermaid and  Plissé!!!  I totally love these.  http://www.knit.dk/ A little spendy for me right now, but I can dream. 🙂

I found so many things on Ravelry. I LOVE RAVELRY!!!  One of the greatest things is that I can look at a pattern before I buy the yarn and see if it really is something I want to knit.  And, I’ve met so many great people too! 

I’ll be home tomorrow again and I’ll get pictures posted from the weekend trip down to Oregon for the Canby Flock and Fiber Festival.  Also pictures of everything I rushed to get done before my hand went out of service.

This much typing has wore me out.  Good night!

5 responses to “with one hand…

  1. I am trying to picture you doing so much. lol
    I’m glad you’re at least going to make it to knit night (but are you supposed to be driving?)
    Let me know if there’s anything I can do!

  2. Your going to be like a race horse out of the gate once you’re able to knit again.
    Glad to hear that you are healing and that your well-trained husband is pampering you.

  3. Your going to be like a race horse out of the gate once you’re able to knit again.
    Glad to hear that you are healing and that your well-trained husband is pampering you.

  4. I hope that your hand heals quickly and you are back to knitting again in no time!!

    I also love the new look of the blog!

Leave a Reply

