I ran out of yarn…

Can you believe this!  I had’nt really been looking in my knitting bag at how low my yarn was getting.  I knew the ball was getting very small but I also knew that I was almost done with my shawl.  I have ONE AND HALF rows left to knit and then the BO row!!!!!  I can’t believe this is happening… I really wanted to be blocking my shawl this afternoon and wearing it this week.  So close… and yet so far.  The Yarn Corner is closed on Monday and Sherri is off this week.  I promised not to have any knitting emergencies as a joke… and now look at me… I’m having a knitting emergency! 😦

shawl out of yarn

Moving right along…. I didn’t knit on my sweater today, instead I decided to practice knitting without throwing!  Can you teach an old dog new tricks?  I say yes, but with lots and lots of patience.  I decided to make a baby bib to practice on.  It’s not quite done, I have the other side strap to make, weave in the ends and add a button.  I need to have 4 of these made by the end of the summer and they are great for practicing continental knitting. 

These pictures didn’t really turn out so great, and I’m not sure what I’ve done to the camera this time.  The color is lime green, white and blue.  I traded a ball of pink for this one!

Bib Front

Front of bib.

This made up bib pattern is very simple with little purling to do, because purling is not as easy for me when I’m not throwing my yarn!  I like both sides of this pattern too!

Bib Back

Back of bib.

CO 38, Knit 4 rows, then begin the 2 row repeat… Row 1: *Knit 2, Purl 1*end with 2 knits.  Row 2: Knit.  Keep repeating until the bib is as big as you want it to be (mine is about 25 ribs or 50 rows – I don’t want to run out of yarn!).  Then staying in pattern work the first 8 stitches and BO until 8 stitches are left on the other side. Work these 8 stitches back and forth for about 5 inches and make a button hole (knit 3, BO 2, knit 3 – then on the other side knit 2, purl 1, CO 2, purl 1, knit 2). Work for about another inch and BO.  Now work the 8 stitches that have been hanging on your needle this whole time until it is the same size.  Add a button, and a Bib is born! 

Next weekend is the Sand and Sawdust Festival here in Ocean Shores, and I love to see all the sand sculptures people make.  There is also a giant wood carving contest that goes on at the Convention Center and Craft show too!  I’ll try to take lots of pictures – pray for sunshine, not just for this event, but for the much bigger event – Sherri’s daughter is getting married!  I can’t believe it’s here already.  How exciting, it seems like just the other day I was getting ready for my wedding, and poof – it’s been 10 months!  10 Happy months!

On that note I think I’ll call it a night!

 

4 responses to “I ran out of yarn…

  1. Go get the yarn. I will be in and out this week, but you know they are more than happy to help you. Don’t wait a week!
    Thanks for the well wishes for the wedding! It’s getting pretty intense these days. It sure doesn’t seem like 10 months since yours!!!!!!!!
    Keep plugging away at the continental knitting. I knit by throwing for longer than you have been alive and I managed to learn it! (even the purl!)

  2. oh my! I LOVE your new look! I also like your template!

  3. since i don’t have your email address these days…I can’t email you….but every time I refresh, you have a new look! I liked those books!

  4. The bib is cute. Isn’t it nice to try and learn a new skill on an easy project? (I taught myself to knit right handed, throwing on a purse that I knit and felted for my mom)

Leave a Reply

