Knitting, Dips and books…

Well the weekend is drawing to an end… and it’s been drizzling all day!  This will be a short entry tonight because I want to get back to knitting on my shawl.

shawl and keyboard

It’s almost doubled since last weekend.  I had a couple of lunch hours that I spent looking for the missing YO.  And then I had a couple of lunch hours that went very well!  I love this pattern.

SOCKS…

Tofutsies are still in the bag… I’m on the second sock and in the home stretch (the foot) now.  In the mean time I have switched back to my much neglected Roza socks. 

Roza… remember the Roza socks? Well they are a good break time knit, and I can spend almost 30 minutes a day on them.  On Friday morning break (outside on the bench in front of work, in the sunshine, I might add) I finished my first Roza.  The pictures just don’t do it justice.  

I love this picture with Thor checking it out.

Roza and Thor nose

This photo shows the color a little better.

Roza sock in window

I was viewing a few blogs this weekend and came across someones Manta Ray Shawl, and thought that I had seen that recently… I had.  It’s in my new book Yarnplay by Lisa Shobhana Mason .  I wasn’t sure how much I liked this book at first, but the more that I look at it the more I liked it.  I could imagine this shawl made out of the brushed acrylic yarn that I have in this grape color.  I’ve only had the yarn for about 24years!!!!  Yes, that’s right.  Back when I lived in Oregon, and worked for Robin and Russ Handweavers, I bought a cone of this!  Back then I could only crochet and weave and I have no idea what I thought I was going to make out of this yarn, (maybe a blanket thing) I just knew that I liked the color.  So what did I do… stayed up half the night knitting on it when I have perfectly wonderful projects to be working on!!  Oh the shame of it. -No picture to follow of this project until I recharge all the batteries (yes, 3 of them) that I have run down. 

On the dip front, I did my inventory – lots to order to have fresh stuff ready to make dips!  I tried fine tuning a couple of dips that I wanted to kick up and change a bit and I made up 3 to take to work.  A mild curry herb dip, a smokey mexican type dip and a blue cheese herb dip.  Stop by and try some if you’re in the neighborhood.

Well for light reading I’ll tell you that I’m enjoying the Knitting for Peace book and I’m listening to The Keepers of the House by Shirley Ann Grau (at work) and in the car I’m on the last CD of The Seventh Sinner by Elizabeth Peters.  I love a good mystery or thriller or suspense and I love a good story (even the ones that will make me laugh and cry and feel like I know these people).  The book by Elizabeth Peters is a good story.  No guts, blood, and swearing just a good ol’ fashion Agatha Christie type mystery.  Easy to listen to and no, you won’t figure out who did it until the bitter end!  It takes place in Rome and they go to all the places I want to someday visit. 

Did I say this was going to be a short blog night?  Good heavens I must go knit now!  I hope a good weekend was had by all.

2 responses to “Knitting, Dips and books…

  1. Love the shawl! And the Roza sock is great! (what is the yarn?)
    I’ve looked at the yarnplay book before and thought about buying it, just haven’t yet.
    Mmm the talk about the dip…I remember that I really liked the curry! I’ll have to buy some from you soon! 🙂

  2. The shawl is beautiful. Would you like to take mine to work and knit on it for awhile? It is feeling neglected! Love the sock too!

Leave a Reply

