Shawls, Bags and Bears, Oh My!

Let me begin with the shawl (well it really hasn’t began yet, but as soon as I finish this blog it will!)

shawl yarn and pattern

This is my first shawl, and the pattern I picked is the Fiber Trends’ Leaf Lace Shawl.  The yarn for the shawl took me less than 5 minutes to pick out, it’s Louet Gems in Sage.  I get such a high when I am about to begin a new project, is this normal?  Does anyone else get this feeling? 

My accessories bag is coming along slowly.  I did get it blocked and the sides are knitted up and now I am waiting for it to dry.  I decided this morning that I wanted the bottom to be felted. So I hand felted it with hot water until I developed blisters on my finger.  It’s only semi-felted.  I may try it again.  I’ll post pictures later.

Now as for the Bears!  I saw the cute little animals that Lauri had made and thought I would like to make one or two myself.  I picked up the pattern and yarn this week.  The pattern is from Plymouth Yarn – Baby Animals.  The yarn is the Oh My! from Plymouth Yarn, in Latte.  This yarn is soooo soft and I would love to have a sweatshirt or sweater made out of this.  My cousin’s daughter got married this weekend and the invitation I received had a ribbon on it.  

flat bear

I just found out last week that she is going to be having a baby in October, so the bear is for her and I’m using the ribbon from her wedding invite.  We don’t know if it is going to be a girl or boy yet but I can’t wait to make another cute little baby item.

lake bear

enjoy bear

I think these are so cute.  I had to make another one.  I need to sew on the ears and tail and make a face for her.  These are super quick to knit up.  I think it took about 5 hours.

That’s it for tonight, I want to get started on my shawl!

4 responses to “Shawls, Bags and Bears, Oh My!

  1. the cuteness! I love the bear!

  2. I will have to have you put a face on my bear…my gosh, that is so cute!!! Can’t wait to see the shawl.

  3. Great work!! I love yours!
    I never did get a face put on the one I gave to my coworker. I kept getting differing opinions about yes or no to a face…she voted no, So I gave it to her and 2 days later she had her little boy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

