More Mystery…

I have to say this first… I, like millions of other people, I can’t believe that 10 years has gone by since the terrorist attacks.

Yes, I do remember where I was, and more than that I remember thinking “I need to call my dad.”  I always called my dad when things got scary.  I was thinking when is this going to stop and are they going to come here.  Silly as is sounds, I was driving to work and couldn’t get there fast enough.  I needed to be around other people to feel safe.

OK, I’m going to move on with what’s on the needles!

Mystery Shawl - Susanna IC

Yes, yes I did join another Mystery Shawl KAL!!!  I loved the last one so much I couldn’t wait to do another one.  This one is being done because Susanna IC on Ravelry has 1000 members (a lot more now).  We received our first clue Saturday and we will receive 4 more clues, 1 every 10 days.  This is a crescent-shaped shawl (my favorite shape) and I am getting to use the beads I bought for a KAL a few years ago.  The yarn is called Moo & Ewe by Miss Babs – the colorway is Blue Leg Mushroom.  We cast on 361 sts on size 10 needles, and then the shawl is knit on size 7’s.    The color of the yarn is difficult to describe, it has a bit on khaki in it and maybe a touch of brown-gray.

yarn for my newest mystery shawl

The Westknits Mystery Shawl was the very first time that I finished on time and was able to post pictures for the random drawings.  I may not have won, but I do have a wonderful shawl!

iphone picture of me at work

In order to eligible to win prizes you had to post a picture of your finished shawl on Thursday the 1st of September.  I only had my iphone that I could use to download pictures from… so the next two pictures were also taken with my phone.

Hanging from my cabinets in my office space.

I can’t wait for the weather to get cooler so I can wear it.

And let me not forget that my Mystery Shawl with Wendy is all done and blocked too!  I didn’t stay true to the pattern because I wanted to try to make it be a crescent shape.  Not the greatest shape, but I still love it and I will wear it.

Not the greatest picture, the color is so much more beautiful.

Yarn: Pagewood Farm Yukon (sock yarn)
Colorway: Seabreeze

up close edge

I have a couple other projects on my needles right now, and I haven’t given up on my RV blanket in the happy Lucy colors.  I even started the pillow to go with the blanket, but I do not have pictures yet.  That will have to wait until another day.
Other things that have gone on this month are…
The Sock Blanket reveal!  On September 1, we had a knit night like no other.  The sock blanket we have all been working on was completed and pictures taken.  The big secret… well, the blanket was not really for Friendship house, but for our much-loved friend (and LYS owner) Sherri Hughes.  She had no idea that all along this was being made for her.
Friendship Blanket – Knit Night @ Tully’s – 09/01/2011

She worked on weaving in the ends, and commented to Linda that she wished she could buy the blanket because she loved it so much.  I wish you could have seen the look on her face when we folded up the blanket and handed it to her with a card.  I think we all had tears in our eyes.  Sherri has come through so much with over a full year of breast cancer treatments.  She is one of the strongest people I know.  I am so glad that she loves it as much as we loved knitted it for her.  So much love and fun went into this blanket.

Sherri opening her card.

 In the picture of the blanket in the chair you can see the I-Cord edging, it’s a perfect finish to this blanket.

Don't you just want to wrap up in this blanket!

OK, I leave you now with a picture of my baby girl Cassie.

She loves to lay in the sunshine and look out the window.

2 responses to “More Mystery…

  1. What happened to my mouth on the picture I was looking at the card?? LOL I think I was trying not to cry. I love my blanket sooooo much! As I told you, I don’t think there’s a more used object in our house! It has become my official blankie….I don’t even know where my previous one went. Thank you soooo much.

    And I LOVE your shawls!

  2. Beautiful blanket! And I love the woman it went to. Even though I haven’t ever met her in person I still love her bunches. Thanks to all you wonderful women who made her this special gift. God bless you all.

Leave a Reply

